Minimalist Baby Gear Alternatives

It’s a pretty fabulous thing planning for not only a third baby, but a third baby who is the same sex as your first two. Our needs are few. We have a heaping drawer of clothes ready to go, ranging from newborn to 6 months, and a drawer below that for cloth diapers. However, with a 4 year gap between children, and two domestic and one international moves thrown in there somewhere, there were a few things we had parted with at some point or that broke and were never replaced.

When looking for baby gear I ask myself a few specific questions. They may be helpful for you as well whether you are a first time parent, a seasoned one, or perhaps planning a gift for a friend. 

  1. What is the longevity of this item? Is it timeless? Can it be passed on? (It is a common misconception that babies and kids will wear an item so thoroughly that it will be beyond use for another child or family. Maybe your investment will prove to be a great blessing for someone else later).
  2. Is this a single-function item or can it be used for different purposes?
  3. Is it necessary, or can we do without?

Not all of our items meet every one of these criteria, but they always meet the last one. Only you can determine what is necessary for you and your baby. For example, a diaper sprayer for cloth-diapering parents might not technically be necessary, but it’s on our list because it is necessary for me to stay sane, ya know?

Here are 3 items that we are buying, and which are multi-purpose in their use and great for those who need compact items for small home or apartment living. After all, even minimalists need baby gear.

Baby bath / This falls under the category of things that are simply necessary, unless of course you have a great sink space ideal for washing babies. We don’t have one of those, so we’re opting for this collapsible tub by Boon. In the meantime, we have a tub that was given to us that is a bit unwieldy, but will do the job if finances don’t line up for this purchase.

81QSXqQ+8mL._SL1500_

Nursing/grocery cart/car seat cover / I love The Nest by Native Wilds, a USA made company based in Nashville, TN. They have a beautiful neutral collection that can fit the taste of just about any parent (Dads can use these, too!). Mostly I am getting this because it is high time for a nursing cover upgrade for this mama, but I’m also really excited about the versatility with this design and expect it will be a must-have item in my baby bag. Now to decide on the color!

NativeWilds

Go-Pod by KidCo / We’re opting for a little camping aesthetic and ultimate portability with this exersaucer alternative. Packs easily, works indoors or out, and has little tabs on which to put your babe’s favorite toys. I love how the surface area can be customized for your little one’s age and interests, and the color options aren’t too shabby.

61+b9UwPPnL._SL1001_

Baggu Pouches / This isn’t technically a baby gear alternative, per se, but I’m including it because using pouches to keep your on-the-go baby items organized means any bag works (yet another way to get some versatility with your baby gear). How on earth am I supposed to keep track of loose items in a bag for 1 child, let alone three? This is a baby bag solution I plan on implementing this time around. Here is a great example of the pouch system in action.

Do you have any minimalist gear recommendations? What has worked for you?

5 thoughts on “Minimalist Baby Gear Alternatives

  1. Love this, and I want that gopod! Since we have a small space, we had similar minimalist needs. I opted to borrow as much if the newborn specific stuff as possible so that it will leave my house in a couple months. It means that I couldn’t be as picky about colors or styles, but it’s worth it. We also bought a crib that drops into a toddler bed (from ikea) to avoid having to buy one of those later. And I got a puj tub- folds totally flat and slides under the dresser! Plus it wasn’t too pricey. I skipped a diaper bag and someone gave me a big longchamp bag they were getting rid of, which works perfectly when coupled with some pouches. I have since realized things I needed to buy, and things I could have done without, but I am pleased that baby stuff actually is a small presence in our home.

    Like

    • Borrowing—such a great tool for parents. It sounds like you guys are doing a pretty sweet job of making living with a baby in a small space work well, and I’m glad to know the pouch system is going well for you. Yes, all the googly eyes for that gopod! 🙂 XO

      Like

      • I will say though, I am considering investing in some sort of organizer insert to set in my improv-diaper bag. The pouches are great, but there are things I often need quick access to (keys, phone, sunglasses, etc.) that get lost on the abyss.

        Like

  2. I have been looking for something like The Nest for new baby girl, and I’m so glad you posted this! I ordered one immediately after reading this. Thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

